The "Real" World, Uncategorized

Lights, Camera, Jobs

In light of this blog going to tackle my transition to the real world, I would like to share with you the story of my first day working.

If we’re being completely honest, I’ve been working since I was thirteen-years-old.

Not an exaggeration, I got my first job at a small diner by my house as a dishwasher in the spring of eighth grade.

Rocko
This (very blurry) picture is my dishwasher, who I affectionately named Rocko

At first, it was an absolute nightmare.

I was the only one of my friends even thinking about a job, let alone having one.

I nearly cried on my first day as I was sweating from all the work I had just done and the waitress only handed me a twenty dollar bill (at the time, I thought my work had been worth at the very least twenty-five).

Then I did cry after the chef yelled at me for accidentally throwing the spatula away. I stood in the dark, empty parking lot in the rain crying and waited for my mom to pick me up to inform her I was quitting.

I was sad, I smelled like french fries, and I didn’t want to think about what my hands had touched that day.

My mom supported whatever I wanted to do, and I was sure I was quitting, but looking at her as she drove me home I remembered that I took that job for her.

She had been a single parent to my two older siblings and me since I was three-years-old.

Mommaaaa
Mom, Momma, Mommio, Ma Mere, Ma, The Mom

There wasn’t money to spare, I knew that, I also knew my friends could afford to go to the movies on the weekends or eat out and we couldn’t. Rest assured, my mom always found a way to give me a twenty for a trip to the movies, but I would take it with tears in my eyes because I knew, although she was physically handing me the money, we didn’t have it.

That’s why I took the job, so I can help my mom out. I can pay for little things here and there, and for the things I wanted so my mom didn’t have to.

She knew the money would help (although minimally), but she was still supporting my hurried decision to quit.

I kept that job for four years, and got a few babysitting jobs on top of it.

I became self sustaining.

But in those years I realized that I had an excitement that was more than my little two-stoplight town. Unlike the curse says, I was getting out and I was going to be more than self-sustaining, I was going to be a success.

I graduated high school with absolutely no idea what I wanted to do with my life, and came to West Chester University undecided.

It wasn’t long before I found the major that called to me loudest, Communication Studies.

A major all about talking? I registered that week and started building my credits towards it the following semester.

Studio
Look how excited that face is!

It was actually my class in video production that made me realize I had to do something with a camera. Never in my life had I even thought about video production, but after that class I was hooked. It was technical, which was fun at times, but mostly creative and that’s something I needed.

Ultimately, my dreams meandered through all aspects of the field. I could do something like filming the daily news, but it’s not nearly as fun. Combining my creative writing minor and my communication studies major, however, I found it the obvious choice to pursue something that compliments my professional side, as well as my creative side.

That’s when I fell in love with casting.

When I watch a movie, I’ve always been more interested in the talent of the actors, or what the background looks like, or the camera angles rather than the plot.

It wasn’t abnormal foe someone to ask me “was the movie good” and for me to say “well, no, but it was well done“.

So I continue to work towards this dream, and plan on doing whatever it takes to get there! Currently, I’m a media lab intern and love learning the ins and outs of the field every day!

Today’s featured picture is from A Separate Peace by John Knowles!

Leave a Reply

